Dine College

News Release

March 23, 2016


Diné College Student Spotlight


TSAILE, AZ- The Diné College team travelled to the 2016 American Indian Higher Education (AIHEC) Consortium Student Conference from March 13-16 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, bringing home 10 awards.  Among the awards are six 1st place honors, the most of any Diné College AIHEC Team to date.

The AIHEC Student Conference is a gathering of all Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCU) in the United States.  The annual conference offers the TCU students an opportunity to attend informative sessions, engage in friendly competition, and a chance to learn the art of networking. This year, the College had 38 students competing in 13 areas, including: Art, Archery, Creative Writing, Business Bowl, Science Bowl, Knowledge Bowl, Science Poster Presentation, Science Oral Presentation, Informative Speech, Critical Inquiry, Webpage Design, Handgames, and One Act Play.

Students were acknowledged at the Awards Banquet on the last night of the conference and the received the following awards:


1st Place in the Art: Photography
Kyle Sorrell, Digital Photograph, "Evening Flight"


3rd Place in Art: Bead; Dimensional
Keshia Grey, Beadwork, "Turkey Flow"

1st Place Webpage Design: Team
2nd Place Webpage Design: Individual
Malcolm Bob (center)
1st Place in Creative Non-Fiction
"Changed My Perspective" by Kayla Mae Hanks
1st Place Knowledge Bowl Team
2nd Place Critical Inquiry
1st Place One Act Play
Best Actress Award - Danielle Joe (center)
AICF Student of the Year - Felisha Adams


 1st Place Handgames


About Diné College

Diné College was established in 1968 as the first tribally-controlled community college in the United States. Under the direction of an eight-member Board of Regents confirmed by the Government Services Committee of the Navajo Nation Council, Diné College has the responsibility to serve residents of the 26,000 square mile Navajo Nation which spans the states of Arizona, New Mexico and Utah. As a postsecondary educational institution, Diné College awards 19 associate degrees, six certificates and two bachelor degrees. The College accepts any student who meets institutional admissions standards found at www.dinecollege.edu.

AIHEC is the collective spirit and unifying voice of our nation’s 37 TCUs - a unique community of tribally and federally chartered public institutions of higher education working to make a difference in the lives of many thousands of American Indian and Alaska Native students, their families, and their communities. More information about AIHEC can be found at, www.aihec.org