Dine College

News Release

February 3, 2016


Diné College Student Receives AICF Student of the Year Award

 Window Rock site student, Felisha Adams (Jamestown, NM) was selected as the 2015-16 American Indian College Fund (AICF) Student of the Year.  She is a sophomore studying Business Administration.  Felisha is an active member of Student Planners Club. The Planners Club is a student organization fundraising to improve the Diné College Window Rock center.



Felisha Adams, AICF Student of the Year


Felisha competed for the recognition and prestigious award.  The selection was based on student applications and nominations by Diné College faculty or/and staff.  Other selection criteria included an essay; full-time undergraduate enrollment status; a minimum 3.0 grade point average; proof of Indian tribal enrollment; and documented community service or volunteer work.


Felisha plans to continue her education at Diné College and continue to support her fellow students. "I'm humbled to be honored with this award. I want my fellow students to know that I am here to support them. It's a lot of hard work, but they can achieve the same if they work hard."


Felisha will be honored and receive a $1000 scholarship at the 2016 AICF Student of the Year Banquet in Minneapolis, Minn.  This year's banquet will be held in conjunction with the AIHEC Student Conference on March 14-16, 2016. 


According to AICF, the purpose of the award is to recognize one outstanding student from each tribal college and university and to create an initiative for student excellence.  Felisha Adams will proudly represent Diné College among recipients from other tribal colleges and universities.


The scholarship award is sponsored by the Adolph Coors Foundation and is awarded through AICF. For more information on this award, or other AICF Scholarships and awards, please visit www.collegefund.org or stop by your nearest Financial Aid office in Tsaile or Shiprock.



Diné College staff made a special classroom visit to the Window Rock campus center on Wednesday afternoon to present the AICF Student of the Year Award to Felisha Adams. From left to right: Abe Bitok, Felisha Adams, Kathy Ashley, Formon Thompson, Ordell Joe.